David Chamberlain

David Chamberlain – I met David at Opryland Music (now Sony) in 1990 and he has written so many hit songs that it would take me 10 years just to catch up.  Not just hits but Monster hits with major awards like ‘Song Of The Year’ & Album sales, you name it.

David was recording a song at Opryland Music Acuff Rose and he invited me to come down and I am like ‘is this really happening to me?’; to be in the studio with the guy that wrote “What’s Going On In Your World?” & “What Do I Do With Me”,”Have I Got Some Blues For You”.   All Monster hits with George Strait, Tanya Tucker, Charlie Pride and his first song ever was recorded by Billy Jo Spears & produced by Dr. Larry Butler.

Now here is what one of those stories, that you could not make up. David & I wrote “Cold Chill In The Air” that he recorded and it was a top #5 hit and meant so much to me to write with him. I know I will be saying this a lot. I worked with Dr Larry Butler for 20 years until he passed away in 2012.  I was reading an article at that time & it was about David’s career and it said his first cut was with Dr Larry Butler. I never knew this for 20 years.

David let us have a song for charity to include on the Philippine Disaster Album. It was very generous of him to donate his royalties and he got help from his co-writer on the song.  There is a lot of projects that he has developed and like us he is busy and I would really enjoy David guest hosting on my show. David is a really great guy and I will always be thankful that he helped me get my first cut.

This entry was posted in Artists. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment